Message Tab

Georgians nominated for service on various SBC committees


A number of Georgia Baptists were nominated to serve among several national committees by the 2005 Southern Baptist Convention Committee on Nominations recently. Nominees will serve if elected by messengers at the SBC annual meeting June 21-22 in Nashville, Tenn.

Among those nominated to serve on the SBC Executive Committee were Harris R. Malcolm, senior pastor of Central Baptist Church in Americus, and Barry P. Ladd Sr., layperson and member of Harmony Hall Baptist Church in Gainesville.

If elected, both terms will expire in 2009.

Danny Watters, pastor of Beulah Baptist Church in Douglasville, has been nominated to serve a second term on the Guidestone Financial Resources board, term to expire in 2009.

Guidestone is the financial arm of the Southern Baptist Convention.

Doug Merck of Cleveland, who serves as an area missionary in the Mountain Area of Georgia, has been nominated for a second board term for the International Mission Board, term to expire in 2007.

The Mountain Area program consists of the Hiawassee, New Union, Notla River and White associations.

Roger W. Wilkins, senior pastor of Gum Branch First Baptist Church in Hinesville has been nominated for a position on the LifeWay Christian Resources board, term to expire in 2009.

Nominated for a second term on the board is Mary Cox, a member of North Metro First Baptist Church in Lawrenceville and president of Georgia Baptist Ministers Wives, term to expire in 2007.

Nominated to serve on the board for Midwestern Seminary is Jay McSwain, Jr., a member of First Redeemer Church in Cumming, term to expire in 2010.

Mark Powell, pastor of Macedonia Baptist Church in Jackson, was nominated for a term on the Golden Gate Seminary board, term to expire in 2010.

Serving on the board for the Ethics and Religious Liberty Commission will be Donald Mason, a layperson and member of First Baptist Church in Locust Grove, term to expire in 2009.