Message Tab

Vacancies on 2008 Committee on Nominations


Earlier this year, Convention President Bucky Kennedy announced the names of persons to serve on the 2008 Committee on Nominations. They are: Robert Foster, Gainesville, chair; Steven Adams, Millen; Bryan Alexander, Douglasville; Phil Bray, Dearing; Joe Bufford, Jackson; Jim Cleghorn, Warner Robins; Paul Dennis, Newnan; Ronnie Foster, Waycross; Paul Garrison, Toccoa; Chris Humphries, Austell; Jeff Laborg, Warner Robins; Lee Lacey, Sandersville; Jerry L. Speer, Columbus; Mike Stone, Blackshear; and Stephen Williams, Douglasville. Kennedy and GBC Executive Director J. Robert White serve ex officio.

At the 2008 annual meeting of the Georgia Baptist Convention, 22 full-term memberships representing associations and four At-Large memberships will be elected as well as any unexpired terms which become vacant during the year. Georgia Baptists are reminded that the associations may suggest names to the Committee on Nominations for these vacancies.

Associations preparing to suggest names for consideration by the Committee on Nominations have received nominations forms from the office of the Executive Director, and they are requested to mail these forms to Committee on Nominations Chairman Robert Foster, Hopewell Baptist Church, 5086 Poplar Springs Road, Gainesville GA 30507 (770-287-3311) and a copy to the office of the Executive Director. The Committee on Nominations will meet Aug. 18, Oct. 21, and Nov. 10.

Associations for which full five-year term (2013) Executive Committee members will be elected are: Bartow, Bowen, Carrollton, Chattahoochee, Dodge, Fairburn, Flint River, Friendship, Liberty, Murray County, New Sunbury, Notla River, Pulaski-Bleckley, Rehoboth, Sarepta, Southeast, Summerhill, Tattnall-Evans, Troup, Tucker, Turner, and Western.