Message Tab

Georgian to serve on IMB search team


RICHMOND, Va. (BP) International Mission Board trustees have named a search committee to locate a successor to President Jerry Rankin following his July 2010 retirement.

Jana Brown, a member of Peavine Baptist Church in Rock Spring, will represent Georgia Baptists on the influential committee.

Jimmy Pritchard, senior pastor of First Baptist Church of Forney, Texas, is chairing the committee with Norman Coe, associate pastor of Highview Baptist Church in Louisville, Ky., as vice chair.

Other members of the search committee are Stuart Bell and Joe Hewgley of Arkansas; Charles Fowler of Tennessee; Robert Jackson, Mike Penry, and Tim Locher of North Carolina; Nathan Lino of Texas; Dick Landry and Kathy Towns of Louisiana; Ray Jones of Alabama; and Richard Powell of Florida.

Trustee chairman Paul Chitwood also is serving on the committee.

Recommendations can be sent to or to P.O. Box 97, Forney, TX 75126. The deadline for submissions is Dec. 31.