Message Tab

2011 GBC Committee on Nominations named


Georgia Baptist Convention President Dan Spencer announces that the following persons will serve on the 2011 Committee on Nominations: Bryan Myers, chairman, Central Baptist Church, Americus; Allen Bosson, Southside Baptist Church, Savannah; Phil Bray, Fort Creek Baptist Church, Dearing; Mike Broadwater, Northside Baptist Church, Valdosta; Grady Caldwell, New Mercy Baptist Mission, Griffin; Gordon Cloud, Pine Park Baptist Church, Cairo; Jerry Cross, Flat Creek Baptist Church, Fayetteville; Ben Foxworth, Ellaville Baptist Church, Ellaville; Ken Hall, First Baptist Church, Lilburn; Bill Prince, Prince Avenue Baptist Church, Bogart; Bob Richardson, Calvary Baptist Church, Waycross; Sharon Summers, Blackshear Place Baptist Church, Flowery Branch; Joey Taylor, Harvest Community Church, Waynesville; Richard Walker, Macland Baptist Church, Powder Springs; and Wayne Woods, First Baptist Church, Moultrie with Convention President Dan Spencer; Executive Committee Chairman Fred Evers, Northside Baptist Church, Tifton; and Executive Director J. Robert White serving ex officio.

The Committee on Nominations announces that at the 2011 annual meeting of the Georgia Baptist Convention, nineteen (19) full-term memberships and four (4) At Large memberships will be elected, as well as any unexpired terms which become vacant during the year. Georgia Baptists are reminded that the associations are eligible to suggest names to the Committee on Nominations for these vacancies.

Associations preparing to suggest names for consideration by the Committee on Nominations have received a nomination form from the office of the Executive Director, and are requested to mail the form to Committee on Nominations Chairman Bryan Myers, Central Baptist Church, 190 Upper River Road, Americus, GA 31709 (Phone:229-924-4092; Fax:229-924-0638) and a copy to the office of the Executive Director J. Robert White, 6405 Sugarloaf Parkway, Duluth GA 30097 (770-936-5200; Fax: 770-452-6574). The Committee on Nominations met on April 5, and will meet again on August 15, October 18, and if needed, November 14.

Associations for which full five-year term (2016) Executive Committee members will be elected are: Altamaha, Chattooga, Emanuel, Enon, Georgia, Gilmer-Fannin, Hightower, Lanier, Mell, Mid-state, North Georgia, Ogeechee River, Piedmont-Okefenokee, Pine Mountain, Roswell, South Metro, Stone Mountain, Valdosta, and White County.