Message Tab

Georgia Baptists named to serve as leadership


NASHVILLE (BP) — Nominees to serve on the Southern Baptist Convention Executive Committee, the four denominational boards – International Mission Board, North American Mission Board, LifeWay Christian Resources and GuideStone Financial Resources – the Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission, the six seminaries, and the Committee on Order of Business have been selected by the 2014 SBC Committee on Nominations.

Georgia Baptists joined those nominees and will serve if elected by the messengers to the annual meeting of the Southern Baptist Convention, June 10-11 in Baltimore.


Executive Committee

Mike Stone, pastor of Emmanuel Baptist Church in Blackshear, and Cheryl Samples, a member of Pickett’s Mill Baptist Church in Dallas, have been nominated to serve on the SBC Executive Committee, terms to expire in 2018.

Respectively, the two will replace the seats occupied by Marietta pastor Ernest Easley and layman Barry P. Ladd, Sr., of Gainesville.


GuideStone Financial Resources

Jim Law, executive pastor of First Baptist Woodstock, has been nominated to serve a second term.


International Mission Board

Bill Ricketts, pastor of Prince Avenue Baptist Church in Watkinsville, has been nominated to serve with term to expire in 2018. He replaces Gene Williams, of Conyers.

Nominated to serve a second term is June Coleman, of Decatur.


Southern Seminary

Nominees to serve, term to expire in 2019, include Tom Rush, pastor of Berean Baptist in Social Circle. He replaces Paul Garrison, of Toccoa.


New Orleans Seminary

Frank Cox, pastor of North Metro First Baptist Church in Lawrenceville, has been nominated to serve a second term.