Message Tab

Five named to BPC search committee


MOUNT VERNON Brewton-Parker College has released the names of the Presidential Search Committee for the seventeenth president of the college.

Board Chairman and Acting President Gary Campbell released the names on Jan. 26, just six days after President Ergun Caner resigned. Caner, who served 13 months, cited the brokenness following the suicide death of his son as the reason for stepping down.

Trustee Lynda Yawn will chair the search team and will be joined by incoming trustee Fred Evers, senior pastor of Northside Baptist Church in Tifton; and current trustees Dannie Williams, pastor of First Baptist Church of Lyons and Tim Redding, a southeast Georgia businessman. Longtime faculty member Vance Rhoades will round out the five-member committee.

They will be joined by ex officio members J. Robert White, executive director of the Georgia Baptist Convention, and trustee chairman Gary Campbell.